I was, but I'm not anymore

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
09-12-2011, 01:49 PM
I was, but I'm not anymore
This thread was inspired by me finding some of my old documents. I thought it might be fun to show how silly I sounded back in the day.
Hm...just as silly as I sound now, I guess.

Anyway, if you are a former Theist, here's a great place to show off how deluded you were!

From 2004, 10 months after I resigned as a Pastor, I was apparently hoping Rick Warren would consider taking me on staff! This is a cover letter I had to write to go along with my resume:

Quote:
Statement of Faith

I have known the Lord for as long as I can remember. Just as it would be difficult to describe when I first started loving my parents, it would be hard to define when I first began loving Jesus. Growing up in a Christian home, my parents introduced me to God right from the start. My father was a Seventh Day Baptist pastor and I had the benefit of always being involved not only in church and children’s ministries, but our home was Christ centered.

When I was 6 years old, I made a conscious decision to accept Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior. I began to understand that I was a sinner in need of a savior and that Jesus Christ died for my sins and rose from the dead that I might have everlasting life.

As I grew in years, I grew in my relationship with my Lord. A crucial period of growth for me was during my years as an undergraduate at Seattle Pacific University, a private, Christian university. The chapels, classes and small group experiences I had there deepened my understanding of who God is and what He expects of me as His child. I realized I had a calling to serve Him in all that I do and to help other people find God’s purposes for their lives. I went from there to Fuller Theological Seminary to deepen my knowledge of the Lord’s Word and to learn how to serve the needs of people.