Interesting article on Contemporary Christianity in USA

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
12-05-2015, 11:31 AM
Interesting article on Contemporary Christianity in USA
http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/j...d=pm_pop_b

Time to rebrand? Seriously, a good read on the temperature of the Christian churches today. My background is RCC, and for the most part the RCC maintains the traditional tenets of beliefs and rituals. However, I can say that the RCC - at least the churches in my area - are dying too.

If you come from a religious background, this along with "Christian pop/rock" should make you sick.
Quote:This, in the view of many churches, is what millennials like me want. And no wonder pastors think so. Church attendance has plummeted among young adults. In the United States, 59 percent of people ages 18 to 29 with a Christian background have, at some point, dropped out. According to the Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, among those of us who came of age around the year 2000, a solid quarter claim no religious affiliation at all, making my generation significantly more disconnected from faith than members of Generation X were at a comparable point in their lives and twice as detached as baby boomers were as young adults.

In response, many churches have sought to lure millennials back by focusing on style points: cooler bands, hipper worship, edgier programming, impressive technology. Yet while these aren’t inherently bad ideas and might in some cases be effective, they are not the key to drawing millennials back to God in a lasting and meaningful way. Young people don’t simply want a better show. And trying to be cool might be making things worse.