Intro

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
07-06-2014, 09:56 PM
Intro
I am new to being a member, but not to the sight or being Atheist. I do believe I have always been an Atheist, but only in the year or so actually gave my beliefs a voice. I was raised Pentecostal in the South (and ironically was abused in almost every way). We read the bible every night, and the weekends we read in the morning as well. We sat in front of the pulpit in our living room when we read our "Student Bible". I was eagar to gain favor from my father and grandmother who usually guided our "studies", so I put everything I had into reading every word and doing my best to understand it. I have always been a very litteral person and still am. My questions were not accepted and quickly turned into the idea that I was possessed and was the center of many "prayer sessions" and sobbed while people touched me and yelled incoherent babble. Maybe my childhood would have been easier if I had done the same as my brother and pretended to speak in tounges and fall asleep in the middle of church, everyone loved him after that! But that was not and is not my style. It made a difficult childhood even harder. But alas, I made it through and never stopped questioning. The more I studied science (not allowed as a child), the closer I came to believe that there is no god. I am happy to be part of this community, and I find that those in this community are far more kind and compassionate that any believer I have ever met. Thank you to the accepting Atheist community!!!

"neutrality helps the oppressor,never the victim. Silence encourages the tormentor, never the tormented."
~Elie Wiesel
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 2 users Like TSW's post
08-06-2014, 12:24 AM
RE: Intro