Intro and a few questions

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
07-09-2015, 09:16 PM
Intro and a few questions
I'll start by apologizing, I am quite long winded in posts and in person as well. I posted in another thread already about myself, but this seems a little more public. I am a 35 year old soldier with a wife and 4 kids that is having a problem finding like minded people in the army and, surprise surprise, in Oklahoma. My moniker myownslave has been my own since AOL started their chat service on dial up, god knows how long ago. It means, as many here will (hopefully) assume, that I am not ruled by religion and go my own way. One of my peeves in everyday life is having to defend my non-beliefs to people that think I am going to hell. Is there any of you out there that aren't theological historians/experts or just since leaving the church don't want to take the time to rehearse and figure out how to portray why you don't believe? I believe myself to be fairly intelligent, but I don't spend my time pondering what I don't find true, and I think because of this people have to challenge me when they find out I don't buy into their nonsense. The classic rebuttals sometimes work but there is no "leave me alone" statement for some xians. I don't know, maybe I'm just venting and hoping to find someone else with similar experiences. So how about it?

The more we know, the more ignorant we become in the absolute sense, for it is only through enlightenment that we become conscious of our limitations. Precisely one of the most gratifying results of intellectual evolution is the continuous opening up of new and greater prospects.
Nikola Tesla
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes myownslave's post
07-09-2015, 09:19 PM
RE: Intro and a few questions
Welcome, n00b. Big Grin

I wanna go, how about what? But you probably want to start a new thread for that stuff. The intro section is mainly hearts and flowers. Wink

living word