Intro -- from a Christian :)

Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 1 Average
07-12-2012, 08:51 PM (This post was last modified: 07-12-2012 09:03 PM by Phil_GA.)
Intro -- from a Christian :)
As the username implies, I'm Phil and I'm from Georgia.

I took the time to sign up this evening for two reasons:

1. A coworker with whom I often bounce wild and crazy ideas highly recommended the site;
2. The FAQ has shown me that the site owner has a very good sense of humor, in spite of his claim to being an atheist Smile

Professionally, I work in IT in the areas of QA and software deployment. In other words, I break things and frustrate people, primarily because I constantly question why things are the way they are (there is sometimes as much dogma in the workplace as there is in religious organizations).

And yes, I'm a Christian. So much so that I enjoy putting the "fun" in fundamentalist. In fact, I believe so strongly in what I believe that I don't require others to believe as I do to validate my viewpoints.

So, why am I subscribing to an atheistic forum and not one that is predominantly Christian-based? Simple. I went the direction of the latter some years ago, posed a reasonably tough question on (of all things) whether anyone could show me verses in the Bible regarding abortion, and ended up getting inundated by folks who either wondered why I was questioning in the first place to a rather ardent Calvinist-based individual who essentially told me what I should believe and highly recommended I simply leave the forum.

On the other hand, I am hoping that this forum will feature better discussions where differences in opinions are respected (and those who are disagreeable can be rhetorically neutralized). I find that true intellectual growth only occurs when participants are willing to see things from different perspectives.

Yikes! Long intro! TL;DR: I hope to be able to participate in some good discussions. All things in moderation, including moderation.

Thanks.