Poll: Does this argument make you question atheism?
Yes, it causes serious problems for atheism
Yes, it is relevant to atheism but not overly worrying
No, it doesn't seem relevant to atheism
[Show Results]

Is awareness more basic than the material world?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
10-04-2015, 11:59 AM
Is awareness more basic than the material world?
First off, hi, its my first post here, I'm a philosophy masters student who has been introspecting for too long and needs some good feedback from some fellow rational minds.

I'll jump straight into the argument, it's quite simple;

I exist, and I am aware.

I therefore know that existence can be aware.

I know that existence can be aware, but I do not know that existence cannot be aware, as I have no experience of existence not being aware.

Therefore I can know that awareness exists, but not that non-awareness exists. If I am being sceptical and parsimonious I would admit that there are aware things, and nothing else, as to admit of non-aware things would be to admit of two things, one of which I know, aware things, the other which I don't, (but might assume) non-aware things. Obviously if we are to choose between the two we would have to choose the one which is certain; awareness would remain.

That' s pretty much it. I should make it clear that I don't want this argument to be taken as a defense of panpsychism, but believe it could point towards a few conclusions:
1) That scepticism should lead to the rejection of a material existence before it leads to the rejection of an awareness based existence.
2) That epistemologists who deny the existence of God or deities on the basis of 'how can you know' arguments such as Peter Boghossian are given the task of showing how they can know that awareness cannot exist outside our subjective viewpoint.