Is it possible?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
15-11-2011, 03:05 PM
Is it possible?
I am not a scientist so please bear with me.

In The God Delusion Dawkins makes some reference to the issue of, if a god did possibly exist, he would have had to evolve in some manner to reach that dubious status.

Within a boundless universe and infinite time is it not possible that evolution has occurred in many areas and we, perhaps, are part of an orchestrated experiment by higher alien beings via evolution or panspermia?

In this scenario there would be no moral imperatives neccessaarily incumbent upon the perpetrators....Huh
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
15-11-2011, 03:18 PM
RE: Is it possible?
We can only calculate what's possible within our ability to observe. Anything could be possible for all we know, outside of our ability to observe. If we can't observe it and attempt to calculate the definition of it, then we have know way to know whether it's possible or not. So maybe it's possible? It's possible that it is possible, I suppose. Big Grin There's got to be a better way to phrase that...

How's that for a non-answer!

Maybe a certain retired physicist can enlighten us! Smile

Maybe that's not a physicist thing- or maybe it is, I don't know.
[+] 2 users Like kineo's post
15-11-2011, 03:28 PM
(15-11-2011 03:18 PM)kineo Wrote:  We can only calculate what's possible within our ability to observe. Anything could be possible for all we know, outside of our ability to observe. If we can't observe it and attempt to calculate the definition of it, then we have know way to know whether it's possible or not. So maybe it's possible? It's possible that it is possible, I suppose. Big Grin There's got to be a better way to phrase that...

How's that for a non-answer!

Maybe a certain retired physicist can enlighten us! Smile

Maybe that's not a physicist thing- or maybe it is, I don't know.

Thanks Kineo