Is my friend's argument illogical reasoning?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
13-02-2011, 03:20 PM

Is my friend's argument illogical reasoning?
First off, hi to everyone! I'm a new user to this forum, and I actually just recently (started about a month ago) started considering myself an agnostic atheist. I've been questioning for awhile, so it was by no means a rash decision (that's at least what I'm hoping), but I've recently been having conversations with my Christian best friend. She continues to believe in god because it was what her grandmother taught her from a young age, and she holds it in high respect. She doesn't like questioning, even if my arguments (and I'm still learning them) make sense. One thing we were in disagreement about was the bible. She says that it's contributed to society many great things, our country was built on it, etc., and that if we reject that bible then we might as well reject the good things in it as well. I don't want to misinterpret anything she was saying, but I think that was the main point. Why use any good thing from the bible at all if we say it's bad? She basically said that if she thought something was bad she'd stay away from it entirely. I guess like an all-or-nothing deal. I told her that just because the bible has good things in it that are true doesn't automatically make the bible true. Like, in some places it may describe a good diet or reiterate good morals, but that doesn't mean all the other stuff (the garden of eden, talking snakes, sin, etc.) is true. I haven't read the Qu'ran or any other holy book, but I bet that they have tidbits of good things in them as well, yet I don't believe they speak the truth about everything. And what about all the bad stuff too? Like, god killing whole cities and pregnant women and babies and endorsing all sorts of horrible things! So, you guys tell me, does my argument or hers sound like solid reasoning. And, if not (to either), what would be a good argument? Her argument