Jesus is every-fking-where!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
03-10-2015, 11:25 PM
Jesus is every-fking-where!
I call myself recently de-converted, but I had been questioning my faith for many years before I liberated myself from it. I feel confident in my relatively new atheist worldview.

I'm completely new to communicating with people in the anti-theistic community because there are literally none of us in my bible-belt area. Really, nobody to relate to.

Those statements made...

I sometimes feel like many of the anti-theists are overly derogatory to the theists. I'm not sure if it's left-over feelings from my indoctrination, or just my live-and-let-live mentality... As science-minded anti-theist, a statement like "blow jesus out your ass" might make sense to me; but, it is not constructive at all. A statement like that serves no purpose other than to hurt believers... and perhaps add to their ammunition against us.

Maybe I'm being oversensitive to the opposition... But, that brings me to the purpose of this thread... Everywhere I look, I see Jesus this - and God that - and the lord did whatever... ...

Are the "blow jesus out your ass" types extremists? or am I just being overly sensitive?

I'm just feeling lonely in my atheism today. If you have any similar feelings or experiences to share, please do.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 2 users Like mediocrates's post
04-10-2015, 01:17 AM
RE: Jesus is every-fking-where!
From an atheist perspective, dealing with the religious bullshit gets pretty annoying over time, and the type of reaction that you are seeing is when they get too tired from face-palming over and over. From the sidelines the religious speak can sound quite sweet, but when it's directed towards you, you can understand how bigoted and hateful it truly is.