Just saying hello

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
28-02-2017, 07:55 PM
Just saying hello
Just wish to say hello and introduce myself to the community. I am a strong believer in Christ, but I am not a fundamentalist, literalist, nor a young earth creationist.
I have been involved in debates between people of various religions, agnostics, and atheists in writers’ forums for the past 6 years. The rift between those who hold to traditional religious beliefs and those following the scientific methods of learning about the universe, specifically life itself, was very apparent.

Through the exchanges, sometimes heated but mostly friendly, a desire grew in me to learn about science that was similar to my passion for gaining knowledge and wisdom of Jesus. As I discovered more about science, I realized how some of its procedures and methods were identical to how I studied scripture. Instead of abiding by the traditional beliefs that have been passed down through the past two millennia, I adopted an open-minded approach to collecting and assessing the available evidence in order to reach logical conclusions. This was opposed to beginning with the conclusion and gathering evidence to support it (circular thinking), which is the traditional way the study of scripture has been approached.

Using the scientific method to assess Christ’s doctrine, I often felt I was in the middle of a battlefield, receiving incoming fire from both sides of the debate. But attitudes towards my arguments have subtly changed as the years progressed. Though neither side has been convinced by my approach - a foot in each camp - I believe it has led to a more civil and open discussion.

I am hoping to find also an open-minded experience in this forum group.
Offered in the Love of Christ,
Harold ShyShyShy
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 2 users Like hecrow55's post
28-02-2017, 08:20 PM
RE: Just saying hello
Welcome to our forum.