Lack of direction

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
07-07-2014, 08:15 PM
Lack of direction
Hi everybody I am new to this forum but feel like I want some insight and help me with anxiety/depression issues
I am not newly atheist and have never truly been a religious man.
For a long time I was a soldier, a medic actually and I think this is why I never thought about this sooner I was so happy just staying alive everyday feeling like I had purpose all i had to do was stay alive and keep someone else alive and my day was full of purpose. After releasing from the military I found myself under qualified for most things and a lot of jobs truly boring.
Lately Iv had some time of unemployment before going back to study and had some time to figure that maybe my anxiety isn't with the jobs I am doing but how meaningless they make me feel.
I left the army to become a plumber after serving on a disaster relief area and realising the importance of water related infrastructure is it seemed like the easiest option... But once i started learning the trade I realised it was nothing like what I wanted to do.. I was installing fancy bathrooms kitchens for people who already had enough and only doing emergency plumbing work for ridiculous sums of money for my company... which made me feel like a crook. it also takes 4 years to get a licence in plumbing and than at least 6 years to be certified enough to start your own business in plumbing which seemed way too long for so little reward.

Anyway career wise I guess I always wanted to work with disaster relief it kind of makes things seem at least a little meaningful to me.

Anyway a little deeper on to this though i feel that regardless of what we do in life its really for no purpose and sometimes I am jealous of christians and other theists but I can't just make myself believe Santa Claus is real because i want to be happy.

How do you find your purposes?