Learning empathy?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
22-07-2012, 12:51 PM
Learning empathy?
I let it shine through a few times in the past, that I am not good with emotions. My own or other's doesn't matter.

So today I realized something.
As I was watching/listening to all these tradegies... the 911 emergency calls, things about suicide, WTC calls.... The whole time I tried to understand what was going on, and I was very rational about it.
I am also currently reading a book about a girl that has been abducted and ran 8 years later.

Everytime I told my hubby about these things, he seemingly blocked. I felt almost offended by it.
Today I learnt why he blocked.
Today I told him that I had listened to a call of a man inside WTC who called emergendy and died on the phone.
My hubby said "I don't want to listen to that"
I respected that of course.
But I told him I listend to a lot more like that and he asked why I am doing this. He didn't know that I don't feel anything when I listen to it, I don't relate.
He actually asked me if I am a psychopath.
No, I am not.
I have empathy to people through whose situation I have lived myself. And knowing what they are going through, I always want to help.
And these are honest feelings, not faked, not trained to act them well. I have never been standing in front of a mirror, training expressions.
When I cry, I feel like crying and I do it whole heartedly.
Sometimes when I laugh, I do it because it is socially expected from me, sometimes I honestly feel like laughing.
When I experience pain, I really feel it and can express it, and so on. I do have feelings, I really worked so hard on letting them back into my life.
I kinda blocked them in the past as a
protection but this thing with
empathy seems so important, and I just can't. I don't have it.