Letter from a Catholic Church to its members

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
16-12-2013, 10:35 AM
Letter from a Catholic Church to its members
A friend who is a catholic, and attends Mass semi regularly go this email. This really pisses me off....

Dear Friends,

I am writing you about a serious need for your parish.

As you know this past weekend we experienced the wonder of winter weather, lots of snow! I hope and pray that you and your family members were safe and warm and were able to “enjoy” the snow fall.

As a pastor I am always concerned about your safety and generally recommend that if the roads are bad and there is danger of getting injured, stay home! This weekend many of you did stay home. You are better off home and safe for one weekend than in some kind of accident and missing Church for the next weeks or even months.

Unfortunately, when many people are absent from Church, the regular Sunday contributions are also missing. This was the case this weekend. I appeal to your great generosity: when you return to Church next weekend, please remember to bring your contribution from both weeks. If our average weekend contribution is about $5000, and this past weekends was only about $1800, then my expectation is to see about $8200 in this coming weekend’s collection.

Your generosity in making up the missing contribution will be your “free pass” to missing Mass this past weekend.

If you are interested in reading my homily from this weekend, go to the parish web site: sjctamaqua.org and click on the “Pastor’s page” tab. I also want to remind everyone that this Wednesday, December 18th I will be available throughout the course of the entire day (after the 9AM Mass until 7PM) for Confessions (please note that if you don’t find me in Church, please wait 10 or so minutes, I’ll be back – I’m getting a bite to eat, or something like that).