Lorindigo here

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
08-05-2015, 06:14 PM
Lorindigo here
I came upon this site through a member (GoodWithoutGod) who was posting rather brilliantly to a Yahoo story about an arthropod fossil. Fossil stories bring out the Creationists, and of course the fun then ensues.

I have a PhD in biochemistry/molecular biology/microbiolgy. I've worked as a wet lab basic science researcher in basic biomedicine for about 20 years, although I recently turned into a VERY helpful administrator. I've been an atheist essentially all my life, and I came from a family that dutifully exposed me to church, dutifully let me make my own decisions, and then welcomed it when I showed the capacity for logical thinking instead of buying into the religious stuff.

I recently got married, and my new husband was thrilled when he met me because he thought there was something wrong with him that he didn't believe in god, and he'd never met anyone who admitted it.

Here's where it gets interesting. My husband and I attend church nearly every week because our friend is the choir director and we sing in her choir. The music is often gorgeous, even if the lyrics are silly. It's a congregational church, and as liberal as they come. We got married in it, and the first question the pastor asked us in the planning stages was, "So, do you want a secular ceremony?" She was very understanding, and oddly, we feel completely at home with the people because they're wonderfully welcoming, and never try to push the religion. Everyone seems to understand we're a little "different," and they accept us as is. So this, then, is an example of religion done right, in my opinion.

Looking forward to sharing and hearing other insights and stories!
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 8 users Like Lorindigo's post
08-05-2015, 06:20 PM
RE: Lorindigo here