Losing loved ones

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
04-04-2017, 03:25 PM
Losing loved ones
I am rather new to being an atheist I grew up in a strong Christian family and the church and at 18 I started questioning my faith and by 20 nothing in Christianity made sense to me anymore. I just found out that my grandfather has cancer for the third time in 5 years and this time it's stage 4 and he has less than a year and I don't knew how to deal with it without my faith I've never had to deal with death without it and everyone is saying god has a plan or we will pray for him and it's just making me feel worse how do you deal with death knowing there's nothing after life?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes Kaybea97's post
04-04-2017, 03:32 PM
RE: Losing loved ones
I had to deal with it with my father and mother. Try as I might, I didn't rediscover faith when losing them. Just a fundamental sadness that it's the last I will see of them when they passed.

[Image: Labrador%20and%20Title.jpg]
[+] 2 users Like abaris's post
04-04-2017, 03:32 PM
Welcome to TTA.

(04-04-2017 03:25 PM)Kaybea97 Wrote:  ...
how do you deal with death knowing there's nothing after life?

Stoically.

False comfort is still comfort so it's understandable that they say that kinda stuff.

A non-believer finds comfort in thinking about a life well lived. And a reasonable legacy.

But dealing with believers' irrational comfort... I guess it's a case of not being too hard on them because they are victims of conditioning.

You're the lucky one.

Sad

[+] 4 users Like DLJ's post
04-04-2017, 06:03 PM
(04-04-2017 03:25 PM)Kaybea97 Wrote:  how do you deal with death knowing there's nothing after life?

I don't look for absolute meanings and don't think people need them. Looking for them just drives people crazy. Real meanings are relative. So take comfort from the relative achievements of your loved ones.
04-04-2017, 06:07 PM