Losing motivation

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
04-03-2013, 01:04 AM (This post was last modified: 04-03-2013 01:16 AM by Ironwall.)
Losing motivation
Hello all this is my first day on this forum and it really has impressed me which I will go on about in further detail later on. Getting to the point of this post would be that I am losing hope in many of those around me. When I graduated high school I finally got the guts to question my pastor on this religion that I never believed in. I was very interest at the time in Buddhism so I told my mother I don't believe in God and would like to practice Buddhism. She did not like this at all and told me to talk to my pastor which as I said before I was going to do before I made any decisions. After a long talk I told him that I can not follow something I don't believe in and it would be better that I be a 90 year old man and finally truely believe in God than to blindly follow him now. He agreed with me and supported me questioning and going on my own religious journey.

I went to a buddhist temple and bought many books on Buddhism which I read over and over. Even though I learned much from Buddhism and still believe that meditation can be great for the mind I did not believe that it was a proper explanation of what I was looking for. My search continued and I took a beginner philosophy class at my college which opened my eyes to even more knowledge. After becoming obsessed with it I read many books again on the subject and while this answered a lot of moral question it did not answer it the way science does. At this point I was about to graduate with a degree in computer science but I couldn't go on wondering about the universe so I changed my major to physics. Now as a physics major I have learned how many things thought to be unexplainable can be explained.