Lurker finally joins.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
11-01-2015, 09:40 PM
Lurker finally joins.
I have not spent much time here, but what I've seen I like, so I decided to join up. If you're wondering what my user name means, look up:
Mam pięć ołówków. Not terribly exciting.

I'm a US atheist who was raised as a Lutheran preacher's kid, and have been fairly active as a poster on the International Skeptics Forum (formerly JREF) under the name Olowkow for the past 7 years.

I'm a retired electronics engineer (25 years) from a major university's school of chemical sciences, with a PhD in linguistics, and degrees in French and Spanish. I taught languages in the 60's and have done technical consulting, translation and simultaneous interpreting. I owned a small electronics repair business, and was vice-president of another industrial design and repair operation for about 10 years.
Currently I do a little editing for technical articles by non native speakers of English and hang out with a few republican Archie Bunker types who thank god for Rush Limbaugh, Glen Beck and Fox News, just to keep up on how the opposition thinks. I serve as the token liberal and try to humor them out of their AGW denial. It doesn't work.

My interests are the religious and criminal mind, theoretical linguistics, all languages in general, physics, cosmology, electronics, politics, forums and podcasts. Siamese cats. Love them. I also love to play chess, but my Thai wife usually wins. I'm pro gay rights, pro same sex marriage, strongly pro Obama and socially and fiscally a liberal. Former Lucky Strike and Camel smoker.... still alive, barely. Don't start.

I'm looking forward to encountering some interesting conversations or debates on your forum. I am a long time fan of Matt Dillahunty and The Atheist Experience crowd, as well as Aaron Ra and Seth Andrews.