Med School Atheist

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
29-04-2015, 08:58 PM
Med School Atheist
I guess I'm not technically OUT about my atheism--I mean, my fiancé knows and he is a closeted one himself. I can't tell my family for a number of reasons (family members with mental illnesses, aggression issues, threats of real mistreatment--benefits do NOT outweigh the cost in terms of telling them)

Here is my problem: I'm in medical school and I'm worried about my future career and reputation concerning this matter. I'd love to have more people in my circle I can talk to about life with and share my thoughts with. I have my fiancé and my sister to speak with, and that's great! but I don't have anyone else in my life like that--literally no one else and I think I'd like to change that.
When I started med school, I fell into a group of "spiritual" people--a christian, a couple catholics, a mormon, and a buddhist-ish person. With them all having some fraction of deism inside of them, it becomes difficult for me to converse with them about anything not related to our studies now because I can't connect. It's a matter of weighing what is most beneficial for me right now, and leaving that group doesn't fit into the positive side of it. I'm hoping to reach out here and cultivate some other friendships with people I can share ideas with and get opinions from.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
29-04-2015, 09:04 PM
RE: Med School Atheist
Welcome. Lots of ex-General Hospital stars here. Angel

Insufferable know-it-all.Einstein God has a plan for us. Please stop screwing it up with your prayers.
[+] 1 user Likes Bucky Ball's post
29-04-2015, 09:20 PM
Welcome. I think we might be able to help.

Skepticism is not a position; it is an approach to claims.
Science is not a subject, but a method.
[Image: flagstiny%206.gif]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
29-04-2015, 09:29 PM
Welcome!
29-04-2015, 09:48 PM
Welcome! Smile