Morality absent of religion

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
29-08-2013, 05:35 PM
Morality absent of religion
Was presented with the morality cant exist with out religion argument today. I am new to debating about these topics. But that rationale i find to be disturbingly skewed.

Your citizen Atheist
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
29-08-2013, 05:53 PM
RE: Morality absent of religion
The commonly used response is to reverse the question... ask them if the only reason they don't murder, rape and steal is because of God. You can't lose on that one...

If they answer yes, it suggests that the only reason for their being moral is out of fear of God or hell... whereas you can claim to be moral for morality's sake.

If they answer no, then they've proved your argument for you.

[img]

via GIPHY

[/img]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
[+] 1 user Likes Sam's post
29-08-2013, 06:07 PM
(29-08-2013 05:53 PM)Paranoidsam Wrote:  The commonly used response is to reverse the question... ask them if the only reason they don't murder, rape and steal is because of God. You can't lose on that one...

If they answer yes, it suggests that the only reason for their being moral is out of fear of God or hell... whereas you can claim to be moral for morality's sake.

If they answer no, then they've proved your argument for you.
Clever i like it!

Your citizen Atheist
29-08-2013, 06:19 PM
(29-08-2013 05:35 PM)sequoyah Wrote:  Was presented with the morality cant exist with out religion argument today. I am new to debating about these topics. But that rationale i find to be disturbingly skewed.
In my opinion we are better off without the concept of morality.
The morality concept seems to give people an excuse to force their opinions onto others. e.g. Some Christians think homosexuality is immoral thus they seek to make it illegal.