Morality and Magnets

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
01-06-2016, 02:44 PM
Morality and Magnets
Hummmm. Well, here's something interesting.

A person's moral judgments can be changed almost instantly by delivering a magnetic pulse to an area of the brain near the right ear, according to a study in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

According to Joshua Green, psychologist at Harvard University, "Moral judgment is just a brain process," he says. "That's precisely why it's possible for these researchers to influence it using electromagnetic pulses on the surface of the brain."

It's a short article and I don't know if this belongs in the Science section, Philosophy or Atheism. And it may not be the best designed study. I'm not a scientist so I can't judge these things.

The thought just occurred to me though, Consider wonder what would happen if we stuck a big electromagnetic pulses in one of those giant church organ......wired it up to all the christian believers in one of those megachurch congregations.....wonder if they'd suddenly run up and kill the money grubbing minister. Evil_monster

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story...=125304448

Shakespeare's Comedy of Errors.... on Donald J. Trump:

He is deformed, crooked, old, and sere,
Ill-fac’d, worse bodied, shapeless every where;
Vicious, ungentle, foolish, blunt, unkind,
Stigmatical in making, worse in mind.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 5 users Like dancefortwo's post
01-06-2016, 02:53 PM
RE: Morality and Magnets
Too scary. This is the type of thing that will be used to create super soldiers.

I prefer fantasy, but I have to live in reality.
01-06-2016, 05:46 PM
Yeah there have been various studies I've seen done on magnetically or with electro pads on specific brain areas altering the ethical or judgemental aspects of peoples reactions.