Music theory

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
10-08-2016, 10:02 AM
Music theory
I'm curious about something. Is there a mathematical equation for how many different tunes can be created with the notes in music?

I'm no musician but from what I know there are 12 notes in an octave but then there are many octaves and so many different beats and chords and instruments that can be mixed up to make a piece of music.

The reason I asked is that there have recently been lawsuits against several musicians for copywriting infringement. Is there a finite number of songs and tunes one can make with the notes we have? I wonder if someone has tried to calculate this number or are there so many variables that it's impossible to come up with a number.

And did my question even make any sense?

Shakespeare's Comedy of Errors.... on Donald J. Trump:

He is deformed, crooked, old, and sere,
Ill-fac’d, worse bodied, shapeless every where;
Vicious, ungentle, foolish, blunt, unkind,
Stigmatical in making, worse in mind.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
10-08-2016, 10:15 AM
RE: Music theory
Lots of ways to play notes-

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Music_theory
10-08-2016, 10:15 AM
Every time you add a variable, you increase the number of possible combinations by an exponent. That is, if there are three variables, they can be combined nine different ways. Four variables, 16 combinations.

In music, using whole notes in 4/4 time, in a single octave, there are 4x4x4x4=256 possible combinations in a single measure, on a single instrument. I'll let someone else take it from there.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
[+] 1 user Likes jabeady's post
10-08-2016, 10:44 AM
(10-08-2016 10:15 AM)jabeady Wrote:  Every time you add a variable, you increase the number of possible combinations by an exponent. That is, if there are three variables, they can be combined nine different ways. Four variables, 16 combinations.