My 6% moment

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
20-03-2011, 01:03 PM (This post was last modified: 20-03-2011 01:06 PM by aesirus.)
My 6% moment
I'm new to the whole nontheist thing. It's only been about 4 months since I said the word, "Atheist" out loud. But I've pretty much been there for years. Denial is a powerful thing. Anyway, so I've found myself with less and less patience for people who just make bold theistic claims. I think they have never been called on their bullshit so they just keep going. But I'm not all that confrontational.

I work with other nurses who are pretty much all Christian and it's the same with all the support staff. There are a couple of new agey social workers and CNA's. So it's an everyday thing to hear staff and residents constantly talking about or referring to god. It doesn't bother me because they are not actually preaching to me.

Now to the story. I was talking with an assistant about the super moon and orbits. She asks me if I believe in all the 2012 stuff. Obviously I said no. A new Mayan calender simply starts after the old one is finished. It doesn't mean the end of the world. And the only reason it's getting so much press is because people are making money off of it. I said people always make money off of 'end of the world' prophesies and people have been buying it since the dawn of humans.

At this time a different assistant joins in from the sidelines. She says, 'I really do believe we are living in the end times though. All the signs are there. The book of Revelation is coming true right now.'

My blood pressure is rising while she's talking. I say, "People have been saying that for centuries. If it was ever going to happen it would've been at the tail end of the 14th century."

Her, "But we never know when it's going to happen. That's what it says in the Bible. Look at the earthquakes and all the wars."