My Decision regarding Coming Out

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
02-11-2013, 01:39 PM
My Decision regarding Coming Out
I just wanted to get this off my chest, and I'm a newbie, but this seemed like the right place to do so.

My parents do not know I'm an atheist. I don't fear that they'd shun me or anything by coming out, but I've been debating if I should come out as an atheist to them or not.

After going through a bit of a militant phase, I'm much more comfortable with my (lack of) beliefs to the point that I'm better at not getting angry or aggressive at the topic of Religion. I've decided that I'm not going to come out to my parents, but I'm not going to lie to them either.

I'm going to just be who I am. I will remain silent if they say a prayer before dinner at a family event, and I will not be going to church with them for Christmas this year (for the first time). If they question me, I'll simply tell them that I chose to remain silent, or that I'd rather spend time with my fiancee on her birthday (which happens to be Christmas) because that's the truth. If they question my beliefs, I'll calmly tell them I'm an atheist and deal with their reactions then. I've decided not to seek it out.

I've already started this process by "liking" certain atheist pages on Facebook and publicly discussing my atheism with my FB friends. My parents do not use Facebook, but some of their church-going friends have added me and could easily see these activities and tell them if they felt compelled to. I am not outright telling them, but I am not lying anymore either.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 3 users Like TheInsignificantAtheist's post
02-11-2013, 01:44 PM
RE: My Decision regarding Coming Out
You know them best and are best suited to evaluate their reactions. If you are old enough to have a fiancee then you are certainly old enough to have your own opinions but don't be surprised if they get a little defensive.