My dad's claims

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
29-04-2016, 05:02 PM
My dad's claims
Can you guys help me out? My dad ended up talking to me about my unbelief again.

-He said that he has proof of God.

-My dad said that when he was a kid, he once prayed to wake up at midnight and it happened.

-He has had dreams where God let's him know he's real. (Not reliable.)

-When he used to smoke, he tried to quit on his own, but was having a hard time. The longest he went was 3 months. After he prayed, he had no desire to smoke. (FYI: this was before I was born.)

-People have come just at the right time to help him with things like the car messing up.

-He tried to bring up how people found Noah's Ark when I know thats a hoax.

- I'm sure he thinks satan is trying to deceive me

- He said that I shouldn't just stop believing in the Bible when I'm confused about something

Stuff like that. I'm not good at talking and I get very nervous. Sometimes, things come down to faith, which isn't a convincing argument to me.

I know he wants me to be 'saved,' but I can't make myself believe the God of the bible. I don't find the god of the Bible convincing.

He wants me to ask God to let me know he's there. What do you guys think I should do? It's frustrating because the things I gave Yahweh credit for still happen to me now as an atheist.

The good thing is that he said he wouldn't kick me out.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
29-04-2016, 05:32 PM
RE: My dad's claims
All of those things that your dad listed as proof are subjective in nature. None of them are objectively varifiable. If you want to be respectful, you could say something like I don't deny that you had these experiences I just question your interpretations of these events. Do you think it's possible that you are interpreting these events to fit what you want to believe? Confirmation bias is something that must be guarded against religiously. No pun intended.