My opinion on why MOST Christian movies are so terrible.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
17-12-2015, 12:38 AM (This post was last modified: 17-12-2015 12:52 AM by Sylia Gray.)
My opinion on why MOST Christian movies are so terrible.
Forgive me if this post appears long. But please bare with me. I hope it piques everyone's interests.

As a screenwriting student, I was listening to a screenwriting podcast called "On the Page" and in one particular episode, the host, who identified herself as "an agnostic Jew" (I think she means secular Jew) invited two experts from some Christian media group as guests and they were talking screenwriting for a niche market of religious film. (Her podcast is secular. Faith films is just a subject of this one particular episode.) In that episode, they were talking about the faith-film market, and how religious people among the listeners could break into that niche outside of the Hollywood mainstream. And one of the things that the guests said that surprised me (if I correctly remember how they said it - I don't want to put words in their mouths) was that even they themselves were dissatisfied with how most Christian movies tend to alienate general audiences because they tend to get too preachy. And as an atheist, I'm on the same boat as they are.