Need some support in my deconversion process. (Long post.)

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
15-08-2017, 10:01 AM
Need some support in my deconversion process. (Long post.)
Hi,

I'm new to The Thinking Atheist forum and I'm unsure of what subforum to post this in, but I hope it's OK to post it here. Let me know if I should post this someplace else.

I grew up in a very religious environment in Sweden. My family and I attended a fundamentalist Christian church and I attended the church's Christian school for many years. My parents and siblings are still Christians but I don't call myself a Christian anymore (unless my family members ask if I still believe in God and I lie in order to spare them the pain they'd experience if I said "I don't know"). I'm not sure if I'm an atheist though and I'm still trying to figure things out.

I'm certainly leaning towards atheism but I'm still hesitant to call myself an atheist. I'm terrified of hell and of being wrong about God's (probable) non-existence, which would result in an eternity of torture. There's a lot more I could say on the subject of hell (how hell doesn't make sense, how I'm not afraid of any other religion's hell, etc.) but I won't go into that right now. Anyway, I devour everything I can find on atheism. I read a lot of books, listen to a lot of podcasts, watch a lot of videos, and so on, and I've noticed that I tend to side with atheists most of the time. I've realised that the more I think about Christianity, the more absurd it seems. Also, there's no way I can unsee all the inconsistencies and absurdities I've now seen.