Need the help of an expert in evolution.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
13-06-2013, 01:22 PM
Need the help of an expert in evolution.
I'm part of a debating group between atheists and theists, and there is one annoying theist who has something against evolution. I want to argue with him about his latest nonsensical post, but I'm not really an expert nor do I have advanced knowledge, so I'd be happy if an expert could help me out here. He's quoted this guy called Stephen L Talbott, and the quote is as follows:

"In the case of evolution, I picture Dennett and Dawkins filling the blackboard with their vivid descriptions of living, highly regulated, coordinated, integrated, and intensely meaningful biological processes, and then inserting a small, mysterious gap in the middle, along with the words, “Here something random occurs.”
This “something random” looks every bit as wishful as the appeal to a miracle. It is the central miracle in a gospel of meaninglessness, a “Randomness of the gaps,” demanding an extraordinarily blind faith. At the very least, we have a right to ask, “Can you be a little more explicit here?”

~ Stephen L. Talbott, Evolution and the Illusion of Randomness

This is a rather silly argument already, as you can see, but I'd prefer the knowledge of an expert in combating it. So, evolutionary experts, I need you! Give me your advanced knowledge to combat this ignoramus (he's also convinced there's a big science conspiracy against intelligent design; he's a nut, for sure) Tongue.

"Seek out argument and disputation for their own sake; the grave will supply plenty of time for silence."

-Christoper Hitchens, "Letters to a Young Contrarian."
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
13-06-2013, 01:27 PM
RE: Need the help of an expert in evolution.