Neo lamarckism: Give it a chance...

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
27-11-2012, 07:38 PM
Hold on, I'm not a wacko! Wink I'm a biologist and I work with evolution on a daily basis. Here's the argument:

Natural selection was capable to generate a species able to rationalize the world at an extent beyond any other living organism - Homo sapiens.

This species, using the scientific method, generated sufficient knowledge to effectively alter its own genetic traits. Indeed, in a few years, it will be possible to apply genetic therapy in a very large scale.

Therefore, I think that Homo sapiens will be evolving in a way that is more proximate to neo-lamarckism, than to neo-darwinism.

(I know that normally we exclude ourselves from nature. But the reality is that our species is turning the 'blind watchmaker' in a Mr. Magoo)

What's your opinon?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes tiagorod84's post
27-11-2012, 07:44 PM
Re: Neo lamarckism: Give it a chance...
The fundamentalist Christians will burn the research labs to the ground as soon as they become educated enough to understand what you're doing. Them and the Luddites will then block it legislatively.

This research might succeed elsewhere, or at some future time, but I cannot speculate on that.

E 2 = (mc 2)2 + (pc )2
614C → 714N + e + ̅νe
2 K(s) + 2 H2O(l) → 2 KOH(aq) + H2 (g) + 196 kJ/mol
It works, bitches.
Find all posts by this user
[+] 1 user Likes Phaedrus's post
27-11-2012, 09:14 PM
RE: Neo lamarckism: Give it a chance...
(27-11-2012 07:38 PM)tiagorod84 Wrote:  Hold on, I'm not a wacko! Wink I'm a biologist and I work with evolution on a daily basis. Here's the argument:

Natural selection was capable to generate a species able to rationalize the world at an extent beyond any other living organism - Homo sapiens.