New and frustrated

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
16-07-2012, 11:37 PM
New and frustrated
Hello, just reaching out to my fellow non-believers. I've never done anything quite like this before, so I apologize if I am in the wrong section or whatever. What prompted me to come onto here was a conversation I had with my mother; she started out Christian but long ago left it and became spiritual. She's tried to raise me to be understanding and accepting of all beliefs and customs (ultimately with mixed results). The problem I have with this system is that she's willing to just say "you don't know how others were raised" and "its their beliefs and they have no impact on you." I'm sorry, but am I wrong to disagree with this train of thought? I am a fairly recent atheist (agnostic until last year), a transsexual (also learned this about myself in the last year)? I know that I'm going not going to be getting this same respect when others learn about these things about me. Furthermore, the more research I do and the more I listen to the news, the more the religious are FORCING themselves and their beliefs on others and trying to push it into politics and everything else. How is this respecting others beliefs, or them not having an impact on me (and everyone else)? I don't want to argue with her (in most ways I think she's been a fantastic parental figure), but this particular train of thought she has just seems...wrong, problematic, and slightly ignorant to me. Advice?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
17-07-2012, 07:32 AM
RE: New and frustrated
I am in no position to pass judgement as to right or wrong (either thee or she) but I don't see too much of a problem with either of your mother's statements.

Even the almighty Hitch didn't have a problem with people who kept their opinions to themselves and indeed we rarely know everything about others' up-bringing.

Surely tolerance is not a bad thing, is it?