New comer from China sends greetings to folks here.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
26-03-2013, 08:53 PM
New comer from China sends greetings to folks here.
Hello, thinking atheists and theists,

I am a translator from mainland China. And I am an atheist by rational choice through much struggle, disturbance and confusion.

Over a decade ago, I spent some time in U.W., Seattle as an exchange student, when some Chinese American Christians preached to me. Being a somewhat rebellious young man inside, I unconsciously refused to build my personal philosophy on the Marxism Dialectical Materialism taught in politics classes, in whose exams I usually got top scores. I was forced-fed serious and dry doctrines by the education system. The basis of my philosophy was essentially staggering. And there came that amazing embodiment of light, love and salvation, Jesus, whom I asked for whatever a favor which I would be given to without doubt, plus sins absolved, plus ticket to heaven and living happily ever after.

The choice seemed obvious.

Yet there was this "simple disbelief" called reasoning that I just couldn't blindly switch off. The stubborn truth, that the last person I can depend on to achieve my happiness is nobody but myself, just wouldn't go invalid. Therefore confusion and disturbance came into my life.

I had struggled painfully for almost 10 years before I finally became an atheist by rational choice. When confronting crisis and hardship nowadays, I may still be feeble from time to time, but I stand on a sound basis, laid by the first Marxist Dialectical Materialism doctrines I learned from my senior high school politics classes:

[1] The entire world consists of matter.
[2] Matter is in constant motion and change.
[3] These motions and changes have regular rules. And these rules are understandable.
[4] Matter determines mind.
[5] Mind reacts upon matter.

In short: Want something? Then do something.

This is my story.

Want something? Then do something.