New to Atheism...

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
22-10-2016, 05:28 PM
New to Atheism...
Hi all! As my subject states I'm new to atheism. I'm a black Caribbean Christian raised female. To make a long journey short, my teenage years were filled with turmoil, guilt & fear about hell (for myself and others) & feelings of inadequacy against Gods standards. The more I tried to strengthen my faith (cuz I was obviously backsliding in my doubt) & make sense of the awful horrid and nonsensical things in the Bible, the more it fell apart. I reached a point where I could no longer reconcile science and reason to the Bible or any holy book for that matter and at the age of 26 I realized I was an agnostic/atheist (still trying to figure out those terms and where I fit). Where I stand currently: I can't say for certain a god doesn't exist, but I HIGHLY doubt it, & if a god does exist he's a giant asshole.

I'm a mom & nursing student. I'm always asking questions, researching and seeking as whole a picture as possible.

I found this site because I'm surrounded by religion in my family and a lot of my friends are religious. I have told a few friends directly I lack belief in gods and don't believe any holy books, but my family is more difficult to tackle. Also even though my friends are accepting, I don't have anyone to talk to about the disconnect I'm feeling from the people around me..
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 8 users Like Infront_of_the_Veil2's post
22-10-2016, 05:30 PM
RE: New to Atheism...
Welcome!!

But as if to knock me down, reality came around
And without so much as a mere touch, cut me into little pieces

[+] 1 user Likes Momsurroundedbyboys's post
22-10-2016, 06:31 PM
Welcome!

"Let the waters settle and you will see the moon and stars mirrored in your own being." -Rumi
[+] 1 user Likes jennybee's post
22-10-2016, 06:36 PM
Welcome to your new home, you sound like someone who will fit right in.Thumbsup