New to the group

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
06-12-2011, 09:32 AM
New to the group
Hey all, I'm new to the group. I'm pretty new to the "atheist" identity, I have - until recently - been a rather staunch fundamentalist. My life experiences and political views have recently taken me to the point where those religious beliefs are no longer who I am.

I still have a hard time not thinking it's a bad thing. I still sometimes feel like I'm being provocative even by such menial actions as visiting atheist websites or listening to Seth's podcasts. I'm sure I will overcome that in time.

My wife is struggling with similar realizations, though I think she may still have some searching to do for herself. Her family makes it difficult as her brother attends the über-fundamentalist Ozark Christian College in Joplin, MO.

Anyway, I thought I'd go ahead and say "hi" since I've been reading what everybody else is saying. I really do appreciate this group and what it does.

~ themanchicken
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 3 users Like themanchicken's post
06-12-2011, 01:35 PM
RE: New to the group
Reading about other people's struggle is often helpful.

To broaden your own perspective, one approach is to look into other christian doctrines and christianity as practiced in other time periods. They're not all the same; don't prohibit and punish the same behaviours; don't promise heaven for the same virtuous actions - yet are equally certain of their rightness in the name of the same saviour. From there, move on to judaism and islam, which have different interpretations of the same god. And then other religions and mythologies. Comparison will help you become more objective and to distance yourself from the inhibitions instilled by one sect: it's only one of so many!