Novice cook in need of cookware care advice

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
04-05-2016, 08:06 PM
Novice cook in need of cookware care advice
I just started learning to cook, and I purchased this stainless steel pan. The very first time I used it, the oil burned in the pan, and the fish stuck. I had let the oil heat up in a cold pan before adding the fish. I tried various tips to clean the pan, and that dark stain remained. However, I was told by an experienced cook that it would not hurt the pan's performance.

I've used it several times since, and it does perform well. I've been careful to not turn the heat up all the way, and haven't had the oil burn again. However, the food sticks a little every time, and I'm left with a residue to scrub. This is what I was left with after cooking chicken tonight. The dark area is the permanent "stain", and the rest is the oil from tonight. Any tips for stopping this? Is it normal? Would I be better off switching to non-stick?

Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)

Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
04-05-2016, 08:37 PM
RE: Novice cook in need of cookware care advice
First heat the pan then add the oil. Also try to avoid putting cold food in pan. Try bring it to near room temperature first.

I deglaze mine after use by pouring some water into the hot pan. It make cleaning easier. If food is stuck to the pan use enough water to cover it and bring it to boil for a couple of minutes and scrape with a wooden spatula before cleaning.

The dark discolored area is going to require barkeeper's friend and some elbow grease if you want to get that one out...

Save a life. Adopt a greyhound.

[Image: anigrey.gif]
[+] 1 user Likes Popeye's Pappy's post
04-05-2016, 08:43 PM
Also try white vinegar and water on light stains. If that doesn't get it try vinegar and baking soda, but don't let it sit for more than a couple of minutes because it could pit the pan.

04-05-2016, 08:50 PM