Nurse, are you a Christian, dear?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
09-08-2014, 03:06 PM
Nurse, are you a Christian, dear?
As I've posted in other places, I am new to being a cardiac nurse. I'm also new to Atheism and still trying to fit this new self image into my life. I don't know how to answer questions from patients and their families about my absence of faith.

I work in the southeast US. Most of my patients are conservative Christians. I feel like most of them only have confidence in Christian nurses and doctors because they have "faith" and are doing "the Lord's work."

I rarely got asked if I was a Christian when I was in the ED - there just wasn't enough time for patients and their families to feel like they formed a "bond."

I hate lying. I really do. It makes me uncomfortable. But I just don't have a good response thought out and I need help.

I recovered a heart transplant earlier this week, and the patient was very difficult to "wake up". Family of course was upset and had less than realistic expectations...because god... and low IQ (same question 17 times with me explaining it 17 ways of easy) and poor education.... They kept talking about the power of prayer and blah blah while I'm constantly titrating drips and doing blood draws and monitoring his hemodynamic to keep him alive. At one point the patient's elderly mom asked me if I was a christian. (My preceptor is also a Christian as well as the nurse educator for my unit). "Nurse, are you a Christian dear". So there are now 5 people looking at me expectantly (yay open visitation), so I said yes. Blush They were happy with this answer and decided their loved one was in excellent hands. 3 days later we raised dude from the dead Rolleyes and he is expected to do well. (Success!!!)