Objective Morality

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
03-12-2013, 09:18 PM
Objective Morality
I'm new to this side of the glass. I still have no satisfying answer to the question of where an atheist objectively gets its morals from. I have found the religious answer to be fallacious in theism there is NO objective moral, just whatever the deity decides his minions should behave like and the morality is not objective but subjective to the deity's whims. As far as atheism is concerned is there an objective source for morality, or is it purely subjective? Forgive me if you think its a stupid question

“The reason people use a crucifix against vampires is because vampires are allergic to bullshit.” ― Richard Pryor
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
03-12-2013, 09:22 PM
RE: Objective Morality
There are probably different opinions among atheists on this. But my morality is based on treating other people as equals.
[+] 1 user Likes black_squirrel's post
03-12-2013, 09:28 PM
I think we are born with an innate sense of right and wrong (with the exception of psychopaths I believe, correct me if I'm wrong). I love this study that seems to show even eight month olds have a moral compass http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archiv...ng/249931/

After that, it'd be up to upbringing and society to help guide standard morals. I like to think it is nature and nurture working together to create our morals.
[+] 2 users Like Smercury44's post
03-12-2013, 09:44 PM
(03-12-2013 09:22 PM)black_squirrel Wrote:  There are probably different opinions among atheists on this. But my morality is based on treating other people as equals.
Thanks for your input, I whole heartily agree