Old Testament vs New Testament

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
29-07-2014, 12:25 AM
Old Testament vs New Testament
Quick back story:

I'm relatively new to atheism (about 3 years), but I've essentially been agnostic my entire life. I didn't grow up in a religious household; we didn't go to church, discuss 'God', pray, but at the same time we weren't 'atheists' either, if that makes any sense. We just went about our daily lives and shit. My agnosticism grew into atheism after getting a regular taste of organized religion (a girl i was serious about grew up in church and wanted me to be a part of what was a big part of her life, it's why we're no longer together), reading some of the bible, and basically seeing how utterly ridiculous it all was. Tithing was a big thing that just blew my mind. God wants you to give him money so he can give you more money down the line. What in the actual F%^& is that all about? Anyway, wrapping this up, the absolute dip-shittery of it all was all the push I needed to start researching and learning and it was all to easy for me to see that it was a bunch of bullshit.

So now a few years down the line, I am a full blown atheist and love debating the religiously indoctrinated yahoos who surround me in Oklahoma. However, because I never had strong feelings one way or the other, I'm not all to familiar with the bible. What I'm looking for is some of you borderline experts here who have clearly done their research, to simply give me a little direction on what books of the bible I need to read up on. More specifically, what books and contradictions I can and should be aware of in the New Testament. It seems that a regular excuse around these parts is that "Jesus died for our sins so it essentially makes the laws of the Old Testament obsolete", therefore allowing these brainwashed sheep to cherry pick the stuff that is harder to argue against.