On being human, and atheist...

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
05-02-2012, 08:53 PM
Question On being human, and atheist...
I'm pretty new to atheism, and I can't shake the idea that as people find out I no longer believe in God, they'll attribute my flaws (the same ones I've had all along!) to my atheism. I can't be the first who's felt this way. Dodgy How long did it take for you to feel comfortable being human again?[/font]

Drinking Beverage Grab a cuppa' joe; sit-n-read my blog for a spell: www.vaweber.wordpress.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
05-02-2012, 09:22 PM
RE: On being human, and atheist...
Instantaneously. Then Again I've never fallen for the lies of religion.

NEW AND IMPROVED!
Twice the anger, Half the space!
Find all posts by this user
05-02-2012, 09:34 PM
I didn't come out to almost anybody until I was already pretty comfortable with my atheism, so I can't really relate.
05-02-2012, 09:48 PM
Welcome to the forum.
You'll find a variety of folks here, some who have experiences very close to yours. I'm still trying to figure "it" all out myself so if you get the answer, let me know too! Smile

It was just a fucking apple man, we're sorry okay? Please stop the madness Laugh out load
~Izel
05-02-2012, 11:44 PM
Well, I've been there:
- Yeah, your car broke because you don't believe in God
- You couldn't do it because your lack of faith!
Or even worse:
- Oh, got the Job?? See, God is helping you. Why don't you believe? He does all these good things for you!!

Don't worry. We know that shit happens even if you believe in any of the many deities available out there. One thing is for sure: there's no god to blame when things go bad... and there is no god to pray when all is fine.

Don't let other people's guilts and fears affect you. They are projecting themselves.

DISCLAIMER: If you find a message from me offensive, inappropriate, or disruptive, please ignore it.