PTSD

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
24-02-2018, 02:24 AM (This post was last modified: 24-02-2018 02:45 AM by LadyJane.)
PTSD

There is no tl;dr version, sorry. It's just me, airing my dirty laundry out on the WWW. Shy

I don't post here often anymore so I may seem unfamiliar to a few of you. When I used to share more stuff it was awhile ago, so even seasoned forum members might not remember how what little of my personal life I did share used to be.

I have always been the helper. I have a counselling degree. I've always cherished my relationships so much. I will see the good in people no matter how rough it gets. Not perfectly of course, but I have an interest in truly understanding and trying to solve problems or alleviate pain and suffering. I have great skills under my belt and a healthy amount of knowledge (I feel). So for me to be in a vulnerable position is humbling and confusing. But here I am, and this is hard to put here and I'm trying to be brave.

A few years ago my marriage ended suddenly. My ex had come home after a dentist appointment to disclose several things. Just before he walked in the door I remember feeling so content in life. We had ups and downs (he has bipolar and has since run into other mental health diagnosis). I remember reflecting how in the last few weeks we seemed to be in such a good place. Our goals were coming together, our two daughters were healthy and happy and things were good. We had, what I felt, was a close relationship. We always laughed, hung out all the time on his days off from work, talked about all kinds of things.