Parenting atheist children in a non-atheist world

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
08-09-2016, 07:14 AM
Parenting atheist children in a non-atheist world
I am a newbie, so forgive me if this has been discussed.

Are any of you parents? How are you dealing with raising your kids to not believe in god? Are you dealing with pressure from society/friends/family?

I have been an atheist since...I could think. lol But I am not very vocal about it because flat-out saying "I don't believe in god" would not go over well in my family or community.

My approach to religion has mostly been to ignore. But kids are inquisitive creatures, so I do get questions - especially when they have been exposed to religion/god through peers.

I would love to hear how others are dealing with this. What do you say to your kids?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
08-09-2016, 07:57 AM
RE: Parenting atheist children in a non-atheist world
Our approach (my husband and I are atheists) was to tell our child what we thought, but also make clear to him that he could explore and make up his own mind. We have always answered his questions honestly.

My son went through a period when he believed in a god and an afterlife, and when he wanted to go to church, we said okay and arranged for him to attend services at a local Episcopalian congregation. He attended for several months and then stopped going. By the time he was in middle school, my son had stopped believing in a god, although he remains fascinated by mythologies and creation stories.