Passion vs Practicality as a career choice

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
18-10-2015, 11:02 AM
Passion vs Practicality as a career choice
The question is this:

Should I stay in a career which is a charade and promises so much but is founded on bullshit and which I would be more than likely be overlooked even if there was an opportunity. Or should I move into a career where I can actually exploit my skills and do something worthwhile but which I am less passionate about? It would require a significant amount of time and money to change careers now.

Background:

When I was 14 I developed an interest in the field of Artificial Intelligence. I'm now 41.

This has been a passion driving me through life, and even at one point keeping me alive when I was suicidally depressed. I have a degree, a masters, a PhD and a post doc in this area and tried to create a career doing it in industry and academia.

Unfortunately it all just ends up as software engineering which I find boring and soul destroying. I also never have any job stability. This has meant that I have never stayed anywhere longer than 2 1/2 years. My husband ruined his career following me around and hasn't been able to get a job for 4 years because of the gap on his CV.

I still love Artificial Intelligence. I do my own research every evening trying to make a fundamental break-through. And I'm getting some very interesting results. There's only one problem. I've come to the conclusion that the field is utter bollocks. It's bullshit.

There are very few jobs in it. I would love to get a job in academia researching it, and did actually do this for one year. Unfortunately to get a career in academia you are judged on the number of papers that you have published, not what they are about or how good they are. And computer science and engineering is a male dominated field. I realised how bad it can be when I lived in Germany.