Penn State and Religion

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
15-07-2012, 06:55 AM
Penn State and Religion
I'm a Penn State grad, and as many of you who follow the news knows there is a major problem in Penn State land. What I find totally appalling is the total fanaticism that people have regarding the football program and Joe Paterno.

I was kicked out of a Penn State chat site a few days ago because I equated their continued support of Joe Paterno, despite evidence he helped cover up child rape, to the fanaticism of a religious cult.

It seems I was a bit prophetic.
CNN religion blog does equate Penn State and major college football to a religious cult.
http://religion.blogs.cnn.com/2012/07/15...enn-state/

Why are you still reading this line when it is obviously my signature line?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes FaceOfBoe's post
15-07-2012, 03:21 PM
RE: Penn State and Religion
Hey, Boe.

He's wrong.

It's not about a religious cult.

It's about cult of personality.

Both are about power relationships, but the cult of personality applies specifically to the case of Paterno.

As for the rest of it, he just described every single hierarchical organisation on the planet.

I've said it a million times. Dogs are not cat-like. They're both mammals. Penn State football is not religion-like. They're both hierarchical organisations.

BTW - It's 2012, how the fuck is sodomy still illegal??? God's bread, it makes me mad.

Peace and Love and Empathy,

Matt
Find all posts by this user
15-07-2012, 03:39 PM
The mentality is cult like. Lots of adoring fans who love their leader, defending him against all charges.

It's also selfish in nature. They want what they want, no matter who else gets hurt in the process.
...."I don't care how many kids got raped. Give ME the good feelings I want when I go to the games. Give ME my coach that I love"