Personal image mamagement really works. Why is it so easy to fool folks?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
17-02-2014, 11:55 PM
Personal image mamagement really works. Why is it so easy to fool folks?
I am a tax pro. Not the best in the world, but I can competently prepare the vast majority of tax returns that walk in my office. I am also the only male in my office. Over the last few weeks of tax season I have been fascinated by something.

Problem clients tend to gravitate to me more than the girls. All of the ladies in my office are senior to me in training, experience, and knowledge. Yet, when someone does not trust what they say, all I need to do is back them up and tempers seem to smooth right out.

People don't try to bully me like they do the women. Male clients lower their voices and take their seats when only moments ago they were cursing and posturing like apes.

I always believed that it was simply a gender issue. I thought people just naturally respected me more because I am male. But, that is not entirely true.

I have been experimenting over the last few weeks. I have found a "sweet spot" in my personal appearance that seems to garnish the best response.

A long sleeved button shirt with the sleeves rolled just to the center of the forearm, a simple tie, and no jewelry at all seems to be the best approach. The tie must be slack and the top button of the shirt must be open. I know that seems like a trivial detail, but it isn't. I constantly get compliments on my dress and people call me "sir" noticeably more often when these rules are kept. If I button the top button, unroll the sleeves, or put on any jewelry, my compliments go down and I am no longer "sir" material!!