Placebo ethics.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
01-01-2013, 09:04 PM
Placebo ethics.
Hey Everyone,

I should preface this topic with a little background information. Since I am new to this forum I will re-introduce myself. I am a PhD student in applied Biopsychology. My area of study upon entering the program was pain, primarily. The topic of pain, and my adviser at the time, led me interestingly to the study of placebo's, placebo effects and its evil twin nocebo's and nocebo effects.

A question I often get is why study placebo effects? Because placebo effects are real physiological responses to a wide range of conditions, such as Parkinson's disease, pain, irritable bowel syndrome, surgical interventions, depression, well you get the idea. Many, if not most, people seem to think that placebo effects are transient events largely experienced by gullible individuals with little to no actual medical value. I mean who but the gullible would be fooled by a cornstarch pill, right? Wrong. Everyone under the right circumstance, a complete discussion of which would be too lengthy for this point, will positively respond to a placebo. The effects of which can be minutes, to weeks, to years in some instances. Placebo's are not just inert corn starch pills either. A placebo can as mundane as a verbal suggestion or as active as an antibiotic. You may wonder how an antibiotic could be a placebo. The answer is when an active substance is given for a condition when said substance has no treatment efficacy. In other words, giving an antibiotic prescription for a viral infection, for example. This happens more often than one might think and is often done to pacify a difficult or insistent patient. Not everyone likes being told they have the flu and to go home and rest.