Political Views

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 1 Average
01-08-2017, 02:59 PM
Political Views
Hello everyone! I've been doing a lot of research on politics and Social Issues for the past few months. Since becoming an Atheist, I have slowly started to become more liberal on social issues such as Gay Marriage. I'm liberal in these areas because the conservative viewpoints are illogical and moslty a result of their faith. So it's safe to say that I agree with political parties such as Democrats and Libertarians on these issues.

Issues I'm still studying and looking into are all things such as economic issues. I don't want to tie atheism and politics together too much, but I have found out that most atheist lean left. Now some are Libertarians, Republicans, etc. but I will hear people say that ( such as Stephan Molyneux) and others a lot of anti-left things and he has used Europe as an example saying they are falling apart. One reason he gives is because of all the Muslims coming in and trying to take over. I can't remember where, but I'm pretty sure that's the gist of a lot of what he says ( feel free to correct or "enlighten" me).

My questions(answer as many or little as you want):
•Why do you lean left?
• Why do you lean right?
•Why are you neither?
• How do you feel about people such as Stephan Molyneux who are not religious, but speak against a lot of what the left does? Why do you agree or disagree?
• What research can I do to educate myself and have some more concrete views on my politics? Are there any books, articles, or other sources you recommend?

Note:
Just a reminder that I don't want to tie atheism and politics together and say that one determines the other. This is not the case, BUT I would love to hear why that may or may not influence a person. Thank you all!
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
01-08-2017, 03:24 PM
RE: Political Views