Post-grad problems: looking for advice, please

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
13-03-2016, 09:32 PM
Post-grad problems: looking for advice, please
Hello beautiful people,
I'm quite new here but I just wanted to start off by thanking the members of this community for existing and making your presence known. It's been really nice exploring the things that everyone has to say, even though I'm not always ready to join many of the conversations (I just feel like I have nothing new to contribute).
However, I do feel like this is a place that I can safely rant and maybe get some encouragement and/or advice. So here goes.
I'm not in school anymore, and I'm finding post-graduate life really difficult in a number of ways. The day after I graduated, I started at a really lovely job working in a company that helps promote literacy in individuals who often have learning differences that have left them very far behind their peers when it comes to reading and understanding what they've read. It's really satisfying work; our team can help people make amazing amounts of progress. Unfortunately, although I was able to work full-time in the summer (and thus stay in the area that I went to school, expensive as it is), when the school year began again, demand plummeted and so did my hours, so I had to find another job to supplement my income.