Post kids career change

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
02-09-2014, 05:03 PM
Post kids career change
If this is to light for this section please move

I have been in my current career for 20 years, 26 if you count my time in college. It has become a significant drag. More and more I do not feel like going. It is a fairly good field. The pay is good and the work is sometimes interesting. I got 7 years until my youngest is out if high school. My older two should be done or almost done college at that time. I will be 50 at that time. I really do not think I can stand doing what I do now for another 20+ years. Changing now would be detrimental to the family but I can get what ever cradentuals I will need to move on after kids.

A couple of things that come to mind. X-Ray tech. Not sure the hours or pay. Go get a teaching cert in math/science since I have a related degree and go teach middle school. Go get a music ed/math/scienc and see if a school could use a math and science teacher that could also teach beginner band.

It would be a big cut in pay but I have a good neat egg for retirement already. Without the kids in private school and other kid expenses wife and I could live as well as we do now on about 40% of what I make. She has agreed to sell our 3700 sq-ft house after our second starts college. Should be able to turn the sale into a smaller house mostly paid. She also started working so we would not be 100% dependant on me for money.

That is if we do not split for other reasons.

In put, comments, discussion?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
02-09-2014, 05:08 PM
RE: Post kids career change
Uh oh, male menopause. You've arrived at that time of life when men begin rethinking their careers. You are one of millions who've changed horses in mid stream.
02-09-2014, 06:31 PM