Pro-Life Atheists?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
17-09-2010, 09:19 AM

Pro-Life Atheists?
I am a pro-life atheist. There, I said it.

I'm not dumb enough to believe that a two-day-old zygote has the same value as a newborn, but I do tend to think that ending the life of a living being is not ideal under most circumstances. I don't believe in a total abortion ban (because there will always be times when justice and compassion demand legal abortion,) but I really am quite bothered by the flippant attitude toward abortion I've witnessed in some circles. Of course the best solution will always be to prevent unwanted pregnancies in the first place through sex education, availability of contraceptives, and personal responsibility.

I know of at least one prominent atheist who is pro-life, but I sense that it's pretty rare. What do you think?
Quote this message in a reply
17-09-2010, 10:26 AM
RE: Pro-Life Atheists?
(17-09-2010 09:19 AM)athnostic Wrote:  I am a pro-life atheist. There, I said it.

I'm not dumb enough to believe that a two-day-old zygote has the same value as a newborn, but I do tend to think that ending the life of a living being is not ideal under most circumstances. I don't believe in a total abortion ban (because there will always be times when justice and compassion demand legal abortion,) but I really am quite bothered by the flippant attitude toward abortion I've witnessed in some circles. Of course the best solution will always be to prevent unwanted pregnancies in the first place through sex education, availability of contraceptives, and personal responsibility.

I know of at least one prominent atheist who is pro-life, but I sense that it's pretty rare. What do you think?

Do you mean Christopher Hitchens? he's the only prominent atheist that I know of that is pro-life
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
17-09-2010, 04:39 PM