Quarter life crisis?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
06-08-2015, 09:05 AM
Quarter life crisis?
I'll get straight to it: I am not happy with my job.
There are many reasons why: my co-teacher is a senile old woman, I am a pawn of the school and I hate the lifestyle.
Everything else in my life is going well.
I want to be a freelance journalist.
I love freedom.
I have no journalism experience, aside from a college course (my only 4.0 in college).
I think I am a hotshot.
I have a particular angle and knowledge of my subject: the Hmong hill tribe.
I have no journalism experience.
I want to leave my job but I would be stranded.
I am 25.

Can anyone relate? Or am I just going crazy? All the other foreign teachers look so happy and I hate them for it.

“[Science] works! Planes fly. Cars drive. Computers compute. If you base medicine on science, you cure people. If you base the design of planes on science, they fly. If you base the design of rockets on science, they reach the moon. It works...bitches.” - Richie D Da Illest
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
06-08-2015, 09:20 AM
RE: Quarter life crisis?
Why not write a few freelance articles and submit them to various journals, magazines etc. while you are still working at your current job.

"Let the waters settle and you will see the moon and stars mirrored in your own being." -Rumi
[+] 1 user Likes jennybee's post
06-08-2015, 10:11 AM
That's the second intended point of my thread: where do I start? I have ideas for stories but it involves me leaving for China--that's something I can't afford right now. I have an idea for a local story but I won't be here for when it happens. I'll be in Bangkok at that time. Should I just write fluff for the meantime? Travel tips, food, etc. I know my heart won't be in it but maybe that's where I need to start. Maybe I already know what I need to do and I'm just crying for confirmation...