Queerer than we can suppose?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
03-04-2013, 06:46 AM
Smile Queerer than we can suppose?
Hello everyone!

I'm a happy godless physicist and artist from Germany. I am on the quest to understand this crazy universe and therefore I try to improve my critical thinking skills. I try to rid my mind of assumptions, fallacies and other delusions so that maybe one day I will catch a glimpse of what this beautiful world really is. I studied Physics and I can't get enough knowledge about this queer universe. I find myself posing ever stranger questions about reality and I love to turn the world upside down in my mind and speculate about the nature of our world. I will not ever stop looking for questions and answers! I spend a lot of time on youtube, watching lectures, talks, documentaries, debates etc, and that is how I found this place Wink

I have been an atheist since I figured out the easter bunny wasn't real. I remember asking my mom: "Is god like the easter bunny?"
And she replied: "No, this is different!"
Well, I didn't buy it.
I went along with the whole church thing because that was what was the normal thing to do. I didn't even realize I was an atheist at this point. I thought it was normal to... doublethink... and that most if not all people only made themselves believe this to find comfort and were not seriously convinced of it.
I even had a confirmation and confirmation classes in my early teenage years. It was a liberal protestant church and people were really nice. One day the provost asked us why we thought that these days less and less people believed in god.
I thought that was an easy question, raised my hand and replied: "Because today things about this universe that could not be explained a couple of centuries ago can now be explained by science and we do not need gods anymore."
-awkward silence... Oops. But he liked my reply for some reason! Wink