Questions Regarding Epistemology, Foundationalism and Presuppositional Apology

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
02-09-2014, 11:25 AM
Questions Regarding Epistemology, Foundationalism and Presuppositional Apology
I have some questions regarding Epistemology, specifically relating to Foundationalism and how it relates to Presuppositional arguments. I am new to these topics so I hope I may be forgiven some ignorance and difficulty in understanding. I sometimes really struggle to understand philosophical concepts.

I will try to set up a framework of information to give my questions context. Please correct me if I write something that is false or a misrepresentation.

I understand that some beliefs, sometimes known as justified beliefs, are considered as valid because they are rooted in other beliefs that in turn have already undergone justification, or have been demonstrated to be valid using evidence. Since each justification must be rooted in an earlier justified belief, there is a infinite regress of beliefs.

Foundationalism is the claim that some "properly basic beliefs" form a self evident foundation upon which all justified beliefs can stand well supported. Examples of these may be the following:

1. The existence of external reality.
2. The reliability of memory.
3. The existence of other minds.
4. The rules of logic.
5. Reliability of the senses.

Here are my questions:

1. Is it necessary to demonstrate that foundational "properly basic beliefs" are self evident? Is that contradictory?

2. Is it even a possibility to demonstrate the validity of reason and logic using reason and logic? Is this fallacious or otherwise invalid?

3. If the answer to question number two is that it is valid and not fallacious, what is the difference between that and using god to demonstrate god?